The Invisible Backpack of Able-Bodied Privilege Checklist

Sit Down, Fight Back

There are a couple of these already online, but they are written by able-bodied people, and seem to miss some major points of privilege.  I decided to write my own.

1. I can, if I wish, arrange to attend social events without worrying if they are accessible to me.

2. If I am in the company of people that make me uncomfortable, I can easily choose to move elsewhere.

3. I can easily find housing that is accessible to me, with no barriers to my mobility.

4. I can go shopping alone most of the time and be able to reach and obtain all of the items without assistance, know that cashiers will notice I am there, and can easily see and use the credit card machines.  I also don’t have to worry about finding a dressing room I can use, or that it’s being used as a storage room.

View original post 422 more words

Leave a Reply

