There are girl cooties on my space ship–on women writing hard SF

This is a perfect example of systemic sexism. This is the problem with sexism. While being referred to as sweetie in a professional environment by an employee that is a direct report to me as manager is eye roll worthy and annoying. Being discouraged from even submitting my work because I happen to possess a vagina instead of penis in a field where sex organs are not actually involved in the work process?????
Also I’m unsure of why it’s seen as a negative to point out that you aren’t being treated fairly when you in fact aren’t being treated fairly. I do not support the work twice as hard for half as much and hope to gain respect by playing along with an unfair game. Nah, I call it like I see it. Men’s collective hurt feelings are not more important than the tangible losses women face as a result of sexism.

Must Use Bigger Elephants

reentryAnyone who knows me even passingly will know that I dislike pulling gender into a discussion at the first available opportunity. I don’t “do” gender-related panels, and I don’t favour pushing women’s work for the sake that it’s done by women. We have a number of really awesome female science fiction writers. My most favourite-ever writer, C.J. Cherryh, is a woman, and so is Lois McMaster Bujold, another one of my favourites. Kim Stanley Robinson, another one of my favourite writers, is a man, and so is Stephen Baxter. I like their subject matter and that’s why I like those writers. This is how I tick.

I also get weary of people blaming their lack of success too easily on external factors. Having success is a matter of luck and talent–but mostly luck, and persistence–before being a function of anything else. I believe that quietly chipping away and engaging with…

View original post 1,256 more words

Leave a Reply

