A review of Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘Shutdown’

I was many years ago a lukewarm fan of the Anita Blake books. I couldn’t handle the change. Not because of the kinky sex but mostly because of LKH’s biased writing. The characters are flat and boring. Anita is hateful and definitely self hating half Latina

Dottie Smith's Verbal Menagerie

This is an extra special edition of Dottie Smith’s Verbal Menagerie today.

To help alleviate the government shutdown, LKH has very thoughtfully provided her fans with a brand new short story to make themselves feel better. And make her feel more relevant. I am doing a very thoughtful sporking of this. As I was going in chronological order of the series, I have as of yet to read much of the latest Anita Blake. But this caused such a frothing rage in me that I had to stop the ongoing reviews and have a crack at this.

(If you wish to read the story first, the link is on her blog. Go on, I can wait.)

Have you ever had to do lunch with your lover’s fiancé?

Um, no.

I have no idea what is happening in the books currently, but this is what I have gathered: Richard is sleeping…

View original post 3,425 more words

Leave a Reply

