Nice and Racist: What Ellen Degeneres Teaches Us About Racism

This!

KINFOLK KOLLECTIVE

ellenI have a few friends who love The Ellen Degeneres Show. Though I don’t watch the show, I’ve watched clips online when I was interested in seeing a particular guest. I always thought she was so friendly and funny. She seems like the kind of person who’d make you so comfortable in her home. Her quirkiness and ability to pull off the most awkward of jokes with ease make it almost impossible not to like her.

Yet, even with all the qualities I described, Ellen Degeneres is still the dreaded white racist. No, I don’t mean that she actively discriminates against black people in hiring or service. No, I don’t mean that she walks around calling black people niggers. No, I don’t mean she’s rude to black guests on her show. No, I don’t mean that she is a card-carrying member of the White Knights of America. No, I don’t…

View original post 1,005 more words

Leave a Reply

