Strong Women

Because this question is not asked enough

Ice Cream for Dinner

My introduction was young; at just four years old I stretched toward the phone to call the police while my mother screamed from across the room. I struggled to get to it, hung on the wall just out of a toddler’s reach. My mother’s boyfriend, Eric, took one long stride across the living room, leaving my mother crumpled in a heap, and ripped the entire receiver from the wall.

Days later I would sit in the bathroom with my mother as she examined the gash that ran the length of her calf. No one ever taught me about 911.

Sometimes now I wonder: How many times have I had to call the police to report an instance of domestic violence since then? How many more times will I have to?

Tomorrow marks six months since the morning my roommate’s ex-boyfriend burst into our house at 8 am, yelling obscenities and…

View original post 1,198 more words

Leave a Reply

