The Indifference of White Men

whis

One of the most unsettling things about having a platform where you discuss racism often is learning just how truly indifferent certain people really are to the oppression people of color face. Of course this isn’t unique simply to one group of people. I deal with people of all races and creeds coming to me and telling me that the things I discuss are silly and frivolous. “Just get over it” is a really common phrase I hear when discussing systemic racism. I’d love to pretend that I didn’t understand this and honestly the pathology of the people who feel this way is quite fascinating to me, but I know why they feel the way they do: They don’t care. Not only do they not care, but it’s more comfortable for them not to. In one of my previous blog posts I discussed how I felt when I really came…

View original post 1,831 more words

Leave a Reply

